The Hunger Games Trilogy

**SPOILER ALERT**

I bought all three books in the series at once, and I am so glad I did! I started reading the next one as soon as I was done with the first.

Just think of all the things that make your heart ache, make you love, fill your heart with contentment, make you smile through the tears, make you cry your heart out and give you a new perspective. That’s my experience with The Hunger Games in short.

“The bird, the pin, the song, the berries, the watch, the cracker, the dress that burst into flames. I am the Mockingjay. The one that survived despite the Capitol’s plans. The symbol of the rebellion.”

The characters in these books wrestle with death at every single second,  they are forced to make horrible choices, and yes these books are quite dark in places, but overall, I LOVED this series. Loved it from the first to the last word.

“Winning means fame and fortune.
Losing means certain death.
The Hunger Games have begun…”

Katniss is skillfully described, with her sense of survival and her inner demons created by it. She volunteers for the Hunger Games to spare her twelve year old sister Prim. This is unheard-of and most likely suicidal. But she survives, and so does her fellow tribute Peeta. Little does she realize that her small act of defying the Capitol by almost eating the nightlocks, would start a rebellion in the districts, and she will be the mockingjay, the symbol of the rebellion.

In the second book, President Snow is trying to come up with every possible way to stop the rebellion, to eliminate Katniss. From visiting her in 12 to announcing the Quater Quell where the tributes will be chosen from the old victors, he is leaving no stone unturned. When Peeta volunteers to be the tribute instead of Haymitch, Katniss is more determined to save Peeta rather than herself. However, throughout the Quater Quell, Katniss and Peeta remain unaware of the fact that half of the tributes are trying to keep them alive, keep the revolution alive.

The revolution continues through the third book. District 13 exists.

The series does leave me shattered to pieces at various places – like when Rue dies, Cinna’s sacrifice, Finnick’s death and not to forget, Prim’s death.

“Far below, I can just make out Finnick, struggling to hang on as three mutts tear at him. As one yanks back his head to take the death bite, something bizarre happens. It’s as if I’m Finnick, watching images of my life flash by. The mast of a boat, a silver parachute, Mags laughing, a pink sky, Beetee’s trident, Annie in her wedding dress, waves breaking over rocks. Then it’s over.”–Well I cried cried and cried for Finnick and still have a real soft spot for him. I feel sorry and sad for Annie and their son. But then I’m forced to realize and accept the fact that that is what life is. It can never be perfect and more or less or one way or another we are always suffering. And Finnick and Annie’s marraige put a stop to their big miseries for a while but then Finnick’s death started them again cause nothing lasts forever and life is cruel.

I cried my soul out when Prim died. I couldn’t believe that the person to save whom the story had actually begun, was dead. I had to re read the part to be sure that this was really true. But the time when I actually felt my heart shatter to pieces was when Katniss told Buttercup about Prim’s death.

“She’s not here,” I tell him. Buttercup hisses again. “She’s not here. You can hiss all you like. You won’t find Prim.”
At her name, he perks up. Raises his flattened ears. Begins to meow hopefully.
“Get out!” He dodges the pillow I throw at him. “Go away! There’s nothing left for you here!” I start to shake, furious with him.
“She’s not coming back! She’s never ever coming back here again!” I grab another pillow and get to my feet to improve my aim.
Out of nowhere, the tears begin to pour down my cheeks. “She’s dead, you stupid cat. She’s dead.”
A new sound, part crying, part singing comes out of my body, giving voice to my despair.
Buttercup begins to wail as well. No matter what I do, he won’t go.
He circles me, just out of reach, as wave after wave of sobs racks my body, until eventually I fall unconscious. But he must understand. He must know that the unthinkable has happened and to survive will require previously unthinkable actes.
Because hours later, when I come to in my bed, he’s there in the moonlight. Crouched beside me, yellow eyes alert, guarding me from the night.”

Also, the last paragraph before the epilogue when she talks about Gale’s fire, “kindled with rage and hatred” how she had enough of her own and how what she needed to survive was the dandelion in the spring.

“The bright yellow that means rebirth instead of destruction. The promise that life can go on, no matter how bad our losses. That it can be good again. And only Peeta can give me that So after, when he whispers, “You love me. Real or not real?” I tell him, “Real.”— I lost it there. I couldn’t even see through my tears.

Katniss is damaged more and more as the story progresses–the end of the trilogy is satisfying at the same time it is real. The series is thought-provoking and its impact will be with me forever.

Leave a Reply

